Grilled Curly Kale Tails and Radicchio with Cauliflower and Kabocha Coulis

WP_20141112_004[1] WP_20141111_035[1]What a splendid lunch this made. I was actually very happy that, apart from being the standard signature late that I am, it all went rather marvelous! I loved wearing my new skirt and wrapping my apron around it to rustle up this tasty number just for you, so much so that I just had to write about it 🙂

I have always rushed my whole life and food had never been a priority until I discovered its true importance…ummm we kinda need it to live 😉
I believe that sitting down for a meal and savouring each mouthful slowly chewing the food thoroughly is a righteous way to eat and respect our consumption as well as it being a healthy and beneficial way for our digestive system.
Expressing gratitude and thinking about the origin of the food we are eating (where it comes from, how its grown, how it is cared for, how ecologically friendly its transportation method was to get to you and how delicately it was prepared and cooked before it reaches your plate) is an important part of the process of consumption and it would do all well to think more about these elements truly bringing respect for ones self and caring for the world.

I instantly fell in love with radicchio the moment I realised just how divinely delicious it is! Yum! Mmm so good! It is an acquired and bold taste that many just don’t understand, nevertheless I had to follow my heart and bring a creative dish with this eye-catching handsome veg!

Radicchio is not as common as the other ingredients used. It is however one of the healthiest. It is packed full of antioxidants that help protect the eyes and is a great source of dietary fibre. It is rich in minerals, zinc, magnesium, maganese, copper, iron and potassium. It also contains various B Vitamins and is an excellent source of Vitamin K.

The first time I tried radicchio and before I knew what coulis was, I created this simple Radicchio recipe from what we had in the house and this inspired me to get a little more inventive for Wednesdays lunch!
I just adored the way the squash tasted with the rosey red beauty and had to get hold of my creative flare for a nostalgic revamp!

If you would love to get your cooking jig on and try this wonderful recipe of mine please let me know how it goes and here is how to make it:

You will need:
All ingredients organically produced and washed before use.

~ 1 head fresh Radicchio
~ 100g Curly Kale
~ 1/4 large Cauliflower
~ 1/4 Kabocha Squash
~ 2 tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar
~ pinch of salt
~ 1 ounce Water

Method:

I made the coulis the night before to make sure I was organised.

Cut, skin and dice the squash and chop up the cauliflower.
Add about an inch of water to a pan, bring it to the boil and add the prepared vegetables. Reduce the heat, cover the pan and let it gently simmer for approximately 10 minutes.
Remove from the heat and leave it to cool.

Chop the curly kale into tails and in another pan add the water as before then add the kale leaving it for 10 minutes on a low simmer.

Remove the outer leaves of the radicchio and discard the very top if it is bruised or wilted along with the very bottom of the stalk. Slice it in half then half again and place in the grill, turning until it browns on both sides.
Once the kale has cooked add it to the grill to crisp up.

When the squash and cauliflower has cooled, drain it off and using a power blender, blend well for 2 minutes adding the salt, balsamic vinegar and water.

Once the radicchio has browned and the kale tails have crisped, slice the radicchio and after adding it to the plate top it with the kale.

To reheat the coulis, remove from the blender and add it to a pan and on a gentle heat, stir until it is heated right through.

Scoop out the coulis over the top of the radicchio and kale and serve with love!
WP_20141112_012[1]

5 thoughts on “Grilled Curly Kale Tails and Radicchio with Cauliflower and Kabocha Coulis

  1. Nicely decorated !!! May I suggest about the plate,if you are having items in white or pale colors or rice items,colorful plates work the best.If you are having colorful cooking like this one, white plates or solid color plates will give awesome effect(they bring out your decoration the best),also bowls too give a different effect. Just an observation from my ever wandering eyes into food blogs 🙂 I hope I didn’t do anything wrong …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Ady forgive this lateness…those carrots look ace on that plain white plate.
      I was just making do with what I had on the day. Since then my youngest has smashed a lot of plates and I have clay on my list before plates so what I got will just have to do until I can make my own! 😛
      Please, I love your comments and your little kitty is a cutie 🙂 thank you babe’s x

      Like

Leave a Reply

