Organic Sweet Squash Radicchio Recipe



This, being the first time I ever tried the wonderful veg that is Radicchio, I was filled with excitement of discovering a new and, as promised, tasty dish.
The farm I buy my organic produce from is simply divine and gives out recipes with each box you purchase.
I have major intolerances to certain foods, garlic (really…did it really have to be garlic?!) and sugar being two of the most irritating, therefore the recipe gifted along with the Radicchio was out of the question. Nevertheless I was not about to give up there; this magical veg was going to be enjoyed!
The sauce in the Farm recipe was rather a sweet one to say the least and I decided to stick to that theme when adapting this dish to my own requirements, simplifying it majorly using ‘safe’ ingredients that I had available.
In fact I didn’t even use one ingredient listed and just yielded the inspiration to get creative!
My boys were having Crown Prince Squash Cake for dinner (which again I cannot consume due to nearly all the ingredients, bar the tatties and squash, setting my stomach off in agony), I adore squash too and that’s when I decided to join it with the radicchio. I am so glad I did this, it was amazingly delicious and the ingredients complimented each other beautifully, sitting perfectly together.

To create your own version of my recipe you will require:

1/2 head of Organic Radicchio
1/4 Organic Crown Prince Squash
2 tablespoons Organic Balsamic Vinegar
1/4 teaspoon Pink Himalayan Sea Salt

The method:

1) Bring a pan of water to the boil.
2) Section the squash and remove the skin. The skin is quite a tough one so I recommend cutting it away with a sharp knife rather than trying to peel it. Dice the whole quarter and place it in the water. Cover the pan and reduce the heat. Simmer for about 15 minutes.
3) Cut a fresh radicchio in half and then section it into quater slices, length wise.
4) Turn on the grill and cook until both sides of radicchio have browned.
5) Remove the squash from the pan and mash or blend until puréed.
6) Measure out the balsamic vinegar and salt, add it to the squash and purée a little more until it is as smooth as it can be.
7) Plate up the radicchio and top it with the sweet squash.

There you have an absolutely mouth watering plate of food that is quick and simple to make and a joy to devour.

6 thoughts on “Organic Sweet Squash Radicchio Recipe

  1. I don’t find such vegetables here but they look nice and the final dish is great looking .I like the way you present them. I don’t know why you don’t like garlic but apparently they have many medicinal properties and change the flavor of a dish as well,just making a suggestion.I hope you don’t mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Grilled Curly Kale Tails and Radicchio with Cauliflower and Kabocha Coulis | PeaceCrafting

Leave a Reply

